Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


We know ourselves better than anyone else in this world. We know our strengths and weaknesses, our good and bad. No one else can understand better, our successes and failures,  our situations, our solutions and problems. This knowledge of self also helps us measure ourselves in this race of life. Am I any good for this job? Am I capable of handling this? Can I be a good parent? Am I capable of getting a degree? This intimate understanding of our self means we also understand our imperfections. We know our flaws better than anyone else. We may lie to the outside world about our frailties and sometimes we lie to ourselves. But like it or not, the real person inside us knows us better than anyone else.

Knowledge of self is good. Realizing ones weakness is extremely important. But this knowledge sometimes cripples people and makes them believe that no one can fix them. The word ‘Grace’ is almost like fantasy and makes grown up people give a weird look. They think, ” This is like fairy-tale. It’s too good to be true. Can God’s grace overlook my imperfections? That can’t be true! I know I am bad and I know that I need to keep trying to be better and at the end, if my good list is bigger than the bad list, I guess God will reward me and take me in”. Well, here is the truth. The good list can never be bigger than the bad list…. and I mean it. No matter how small the imperfection, it will not go unseen. A small smudge of black ink on a white wall… that is all it needs to be imperfect. The Bible says,

There is no one righteous, not even one;…
there is no one who does good,
not even one – Romans 3:11a, 12b

We can never be perfect enough before God. He knows that better and He also knows everything about us, including our imperfections.  GRACE isn’t something that God gives to the perfect. Grace was made for imperfect people like us. Without His grace, we can never, and I mean never, be saved. God’s grace was made perfect by the sacrifice of His Son Jesus Christ on the cross. Accepting Jesus means accepting God’s grace to forgive our imperfection. It is as simple as that. Let not the fear of rejection based on our imperfections stop us from accepting God’s FREE gift of GRACE. It is free but not cheap, as it was purchased through the sacrifice of Jesus on the cross. This GRACE overlooks all imperfections and flaws, failures and frailties. This GRACE fulfills God’s love for me. Yes, me… He loves me despite my imperfections and no, I am not kidding 🙂